Set up connection alerts for Secure Connect users which can notify via email or any HTML compliant system.

View generated alerts

When an alert is generated, you’ll see a yellow badge appear over the following user interface items:

  • Alert icon - found in toolbar

  • Secure Connect (and menu items)

  • Data Puppy (and menu items)

Click the badge to view the alerts.

View Alert Actions

Alert Actions are notifications which can be set to email an address or connect to HTML Webhooks in web applications like Slack.

  • Click Secure Connect then Alert Actions.
Column Description
Name User supplied name of alert
Definition alert steps set by user when alert is created.

When you create an Alert Action, you need to give it a unique name, then choose if you want an Email or HTML action.

Add Alert Actions - generate notifications

Generate email notifications

This is a two-step process. First you must create the notification. Then you add it to an access rule.

First, create the notification.

  • Click Secure Connect then Alert Actions

  • Click Alert Actions

  • Name the alert.

  • Choose Email.

  • Enter the message subject (e.g., Users have logged in.)

  • Enter the message body.

  • Click Ok when you’re finished.

Now add the action to an alert.

  • Click Secure Connect then Access Rules

  • Click After Connection

  • Choose Allow, When, User, Is.

  • Choose the users to monitor.

  • Choose your alert action.

  • Click Ok when you’re finished.

Generate an HTML Web Hook notification

Many applications provide HTML web hooks into their applications. For example, you can find Slack instructions here.

First create the action.

  • Click Secure Connect then Alert Actions

  • Click Alert Actions

  • Name the alert.

  • Choose HTML and the method recommended by your provider (Get, Post, Put or Delete)

  • Enter the webhook string to allow Cirro to communicate with your provider.

  • Click Ok when you’re finished.

Now add the action to an alert.

  • Click Secure Connect then Alert Actions

  • Click After Connection

  • Name the action.

  • Choose Allow, When, User, Is

  • Choose one or more usernames.

  • Choose your Alert Action.

  • Click Ok when you’re finished.

Edit Alert Action

  • Click Secure Connect then Alert Actions

  • Click Edit on your alert and make the desired modifications.

Delete Alert Action

  • Click Delete on any alert.

  • Click Yes on the confirmation message.

See also

Leave Comments

Login to Disqus to leave comments and questions

Email Cirro if you've got problems, or click Raise Issue at the right side of the page to raise a support request.